Always good, always too short: At home with the family

Saturday found the Mrs. and I back in Monterey County visiting my grandmother, my former pastor and his wife, whom we love like family, and my family. Everyone looked a little older, a little more bald, with a few more wrinkles. Including me. But visiting family is such a rare treat for me now that I live two hours or more from them.

These pictures were taken during our recent visit. I didn’t take any of my grandmother this time. I simply forgot. It might be for the best. It’s difficult to see her in a walker and significantly weaker than I remember. She suffered a stroke in November and she hasn’t been the same since. She struggles opening containers, walking and is consistently losing weight. It took a lot of effort to hold myself together as I said good bye this afternoon.

[rockyou id=65364035&w=256&h=192]

2 Comments

Filed under family, Grandma, Salinas

2 responses to “Always good, always too short: At home with the family

  1. Glad you guys had a nice time. Thanks for giving us a little glimpse into your life with your pics. Even though I don’t know them at all, seeing your family made me happy.

  2. Thanks! I don’t get to see my family as often as I’d like to but we’re very close. It’s fun sharing them with everyone.

Leave a Reply

