Check it out: Mexican Blackletter

Cristina Paoli has authored a cool little art book on the history and use of the Mexican Blackletter font, which you’ve seen for years without knowing it had a name.

The font has seen use on everything from hand-painted business signs, murals and tattoos. It debuted in 1538 in Mexico when Jakob Kronberger with the help of Juan de Zumârraga, established the first printing press on the American continent.

It’s definitely worth a look if you live in the Southwestern United States and are a student of culture.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Check it out: Mexican Blackletter

  1. Pingback: Jakob kronberger | Kerriganmeats

  2. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this
    info for my mission.

  3. Hello there, I found your website by way of Google

    while searching for a related matter, your website got here up, it looks

    great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  4. Right away I am going away to do my breakfast, later
    than having my breakfast coming over again to read further news.

  5. My brother suggested I would possibly like this website.
    He was entirely right. This publish truly made my day.
    You cann’t imagine just how so much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

