Vacation, all I ever wanted

Editor’s note: the following is a partially completed travel sketch written during our vacation in Monterey County in July. I was going to delete it from my drafts, since I never finished it, and I can’t or don’t have time to recall what I did a month later. But I figure it’s just enough material to stand on its own. Enjoy.

The missus and are on location in Monterey County for a week of catching up with family and friends.

We had a perfectly lethargic vacation day Monday. We camped out in my parents’ family room and gleefully perused the cable television offerings. “Ninja Warrior” and “Deadliest Catch” won handily over the abysmal local news offerings. We had our fill by 1 o’clock in the morning, and to my wife’s annoyance, I was snoring by 1:05, as I am every night.

Monday, July 2

10 a.m.

Come on, (pet name), it’s time to get up. Wakey, wakey.”

“Must you? Go talk to my mother, go get some cereal, go outside and read. Just go.”

“Come on, it’s a beautiful day outside and I don’t want to miss it. Why don’t we go have bagels and then go to the beach?”

Bagels. Fighting dirty and tempting the old man while on vacation. Isn’t there an ordinance against that somewhere?

“All right already. Let’s go.”

12: 50 p.m.

Nearly three hours later, we found ourselves a cozy outdoor table at the Bagel Cafe on the northwest side of town. Owned by a local Mexican family, they are as well known for their potato, egg and bacon burritos as they are for their dizzying array of bagels, spreads and espresso drinks.

12:58 p.m.

“Would you stop kicking me?”

“I’m not kicking you.”

“Oh, wait, that’s an earthquake.”

A magnitude 4.3 earthquake centered 1 mile southeast of Aromas gave the region a good jolt but caused little damage. The Bagel Cafe customers looked up, chuckled at each other and kept on eating.

1:30 p.m.

Fighting the commercial forces of The Man, the missus and I stopped by a local thrift store to buy a makeshift beach blanket.

2 p.m.

We descend on Carmel for an afternoon of reading and napping at the beach, gawking at the local boutiques and galleries and searching for ice cream.

Leave a comment

Filed under Salinas, vacation

Leave a Reply

