What I’ve been doing in my extended absence

I didn’t take an extended vacation from blogging because I had nothing to say. No, this nearly two month absence was the result of feeling world-weary and burned out. It seemed like I made time for everyone except myself. I had more business contacts than friends, I wasn’t eating or sleeping well, I hadn’t read a book for pleasure in ages and I didn’t have a hobby. So, I went off in search of myself. Here’s what I found.

dscf6241.jpg

I found my old friend, Kelly (center), who celebrated his 40th birthday. Jerry Jimenez (right) completed The Californian survivor’s — er, alumni, meeting. (The woman at the far left is Jerry’s fiancée.) Kelly is also a new dad. He and his wife are already great parents. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer couple.

dscf6375.jpg

I found the wife makes excellent chile rellenos. And to think she has been sandbagging for nearly five years while I languished in the land of tofu and whole wheat. The nerve.

dscf6402.jpg dscf6416.jpg

I helped plan my mother’s 60th birthday party. When planning a large gathering, don’t overlook the savory simplicity of a taqueria as a caterer. We went this route and couldn’t have been happier. The guests raved about the tacos and from the host’s perspective, having the guests negotiate their own tacos (amount, fillings, etc.) made life so much easier.

dscf6870.jpg dscf6661.jpg

I found I’m a pretty decent gardener. I’m growing a vegetable garden largely from seeds. It has been an exercise in patience. There’s only so much watering, plant food, soil aeration and repositioning in sunlight a novice gardener can do, the rest is up to the plant. I’ve learned there are some things I simply cannot control. And when I try to force my will on a tiny seedling, I kill it. I planted most of my vegetable seeds in January. Here we are in the beginning of April and they’re growing, but it will be months before I pick my first tomato.

dscf6384.jpg

I found that bulbs take a long time to sprout from the earth, even longer if you have a lot of shade on your property.

dscf6793.jpg

I found that with enough water and a shovel, even the most towering, unwelcome shrub will die.

dscf6809.jpg

I found that the tactical placement of fully grown annuals is necessary for preserving one’s sanity when the impatiens and violas one planted from seed didn’t grow, even after months of watering, repositioning and plant food.

dscf6857.jpg

I found that my pastor trusts me enough to let me preach on Sunday morning. It’s a humbling, hilarious and horrifying thought. I had too much to say to be nervous. I had a blast and I pray someone’s life was touched by what God put on my heart.

OK, this is enough for a first post. I don’t want to send all of you into shock. Your deprived little eyeballs wouldn’t recover from it.

4 Comments

Filed under blogging, gardening, Uncategorized, vacation

4 responses to “What I’ve been doing in my extended absence

  1. Eric

    Oh, son of T- have mercy on ME! Good to hear you’re ok. Had a nice time @ the 60th-
    Eric

  2. Jay,
    You all celebrated your mom’s 6oth birthday and also celebrated you mom and dad in-laws’ 60th wedding anniversary.. how awesome is that?
    I loved reading your blog today. So much life in those little seedlings, isn’t there! I will begin turning the soil over here in Idaho pretty soon.

    Have fun in the sun!

  3. stvelma

    Happy Birthday! Tell your mom that her hair looks fabulous. And the glasses! She doesn’t look a day over 40. Which would make the fact of your birth somewhat unusual. . .

    You may have noticed that I have been On Strike from my blog. I sympathize with your “search for yourself.” Many changes in Velma-land: new house coming, job change, college, health. My boy and I are okay. I may take up the blog again after the living gets slower.

    Congratulations on “stopping to smell the flowers.” Very pretty.

    PS. What do you think of Herschel Walker’s recent news?

  4. What fantastic finds!!

Leave a Reply

